23/04/2015 14:05

In my beauty bag: Amelia Reid-Meredith

Bella by name and bella by nature – Shortland Street's Amelia Reid-Meredith is all about celebrating inner beauty, but a few favoured cosmetics products are always appreciated along the way.

SKIN

I use Tailor Oil Cleanser, Tailor Hydrate gel and Tailor Moisture cream - I love these beautiful natural products. Once a week I use Kiehl's Rare Earth Pore Cleansing Masque and an Elizabeth Arden hydrating mask.

My favourite sunscreen is the Neutrogena Beach Defence spray. During summer I am very diligent in applying it since I'm so fair. I then love using Eco Tan to help me feel like I'm not missing out on the golden glow. I also use Estee Lauder Daywear lotion during the day, which has a SPF in it.

I love facials but they're something I don't do enough. I just spoilt myself with an Ashleigh Scott facial - she is amazing. It's not only great for your skin but you are absolutely pampered! I highly recommend her.

My secrets to good skin are healthy eating and healthy thoughts. Skincare is really important but it's what you put in that really counts. I believe being kind and positive towards yourself helps with your natural glow.

MAKEUP

I've loved makeup from a young age. I was always the one giving my girlfriends makeovers. I love how you can feel transformed by it. It aids me as an actress as you can look and feel like a completely different character.

The better you feel about yourself from the inside, the more you will radiate beauty, says Shortland Street's Amelia Reid-Meredith.

low back prom dresses

I really love MAC and Bobbi Brown products as they are great quality and there's always new and inspiring colours. My favourite lipgloss at the moment is Clarins Instant Lip Light in 03 – it's a sheer colour and feels like conditioner for your lips! My must-have for cheeks are MAC Pro Sculpting Creams, which I use for contouring and highlighting. My splurge product is Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation. For everyday I like MAC Face and Body because it's so light and luminous.

In my handbag you'll find Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream, Clarins Hand and Nail Lotion, and, in the summer, MAC Mineralize Charged Water Skin Hydrating Mist.

On weekends I don't wear so much makeup as I like to give my skin a break from all the makeup on set. But I do love playing with new products and looks if I'm heading out for the night.

HAIR

I use Pureology Hydrate shampoo and conditioner. All of our hair is styled and cut on set, but if I have a special occasion or photo shoot my gorgeous friend Suzy Lee - who is an incredible makeup artist - is my go-to.

I don't colour my hair but I do use a Pureology Strength Cure Mask once a week because of all the heat styling on set. I use Cloud 9 straighteners and a ghd hair dryer.

NAILS

I love getting my nails done! I have CND Shellac on my toes and I get it done at Pedman Spicer in Takapuna. The ladies there are fantastic and take amazing care of you. I DIY my nails for work as my character often changes her colour.

My favourite polish is the Ruby range. I like colours that are vibrant and stand out.

FRAGRANCE & BODY

My all-time favourite is Armani Mania but I am constantly changing my perfume. I'm a sucker at the fragrance counters!

Over the years I've worn
 Elie Saab, Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess (that was discontinued and I still crave it), Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb and Estee Lauder Beyond Paradise.

My girlfriend just bought me the Kiehl's Creme de Corps body moisturiser; it is like butter for the skin. I use exfoliating gloves daily and a Kiehl's milk and honey scrub every few days too.

I LOVE baths! I think it's the ultimate treat to give yourself. I use anything from Lush bath bombs to homemade soaks and essential oils.

LIFESTYLE

My quick beauty treat is getting my brows and eyelashes done at Off Wax in Newmarket. This is a quick fix that frames the face and draws attention to your eyes.

My beauty philosophy is that the better you feel about yourself from the inside, the more you will radiate beauty. My grandmother was the most beautiful woman I knew. She was so kind and generous to others that she had this beauty that money and all the beauty products in the world cannot buy. Along with my mum, she is my beauty icon.

A beauty mistake from my past is wearing too much makeup and hiding what was underneath - I've learnt now that it's best to show off what you've naturally got.

The beauty product I think needs be invented is an "attitude control". Just like a blemish treatment or a concealer, it's something that can change our attitudes in one go to make us feel good about ourselves!

I'm always so shocked at how many people feel down about how they look. We need to celebrate our differences more. Women are simply incredible creatures and that is beauty.

green prom dresses

You should also see:

https://thatstoday.com/faithrrison/blog/16823/58024/the-new-kurt-cobain-documentary-gets-personal

—————

Back


Contact

Charles